Anybody have a career as a welder? I have zero experience in trades but I want to get out of retail slavery...

Anybody have a career as a welder? I have zero experience in trades but I want to get out of retail slavery. Welding looks pretty cool but is the money worth the labor?

Attached: what-kind-of-metal-do-you-need-for-welding.jpg (768x768, 79.46K)

Depends if ur doing factory welding or like pipeline welding. Factory is really ez but doesnt pay much unless ur lucky

if you learn reactive metals; zirconium, tantalum, titanium. people will literally bid for you and you could make up to 100$/hr. even if you learn your basic stainless and carbons you can become a contractor and travel around different states and get booku money.

Depends on who you are and were you live. I love it and I make good wage for where I live.

Are you able to choose where you work at?
Thanks for the tip
What do you mean 'who you are' ?

its a decent job, but it really depends what kind of shop you work in, if you have asthma the fumes are probably gonna wreck your shit. another thing is being able to have enough dexterity to actually lay down nice passes and being able to slap out part after part, day after day

Do you like manual labor? Or are you just looking for the easy way out? Don't bother if it's the latter

I don't have my own shop yet but I've been going to school for welding. There's good money in it. Plus you'll never be out of work. Something always needs welded. I'm actually gonna use my stimulus check to buy my own welder

study metallurgy first
learn all about heat control and the different heat properties of different metals
buy a cheap welding machine and some scrap and practice running beads on some coupons
buy a good quality angle grinder and lots of disks
go to all the fabrication shops in your area and tell them to put you to grinding all day and ask them to teach you welding OFF the clock after you've worked a few hours of overtime each day